How Much Does a 401(k) Audit Cost?

Last updated · Source data: plan year 2024 Form 5500 filings

How much does a 401(k) audit cost?

Most single-employer 401(k) plan audits cost between $8,000 and $18,000 per year. A first-year audit of a plan near the 100-participant threshold typically runs $9,000–$14,000. Larger plans, employer stock, multiple payroll systems, or messy records push fees above $25,000.

Typical audit fees by plan size

Typical annual 401(k) audit fee ranges (editorial estimates)
Plan sizeTypical fee rangeWhat drives the range
100–249 participants$8,000 – $14,000Most first-time audits land here; single payroll and one recordkeeper keep scope tight.
250–499 participants$10,000 – $18,000More participant-level testing; still typically one fieldwork cycle.
500–999 participants$13,000 – $25,000Larger samples; often multiple payrolls or acquisitions in the mix.
1,000–4,999 participants$18,000 – $40,000Complexity-driven: mergers, employer stock, non-standard assets push the top of the range.
5,000+ participants$30,000+Multi-entity sponsors, 11-K filers, and hard-to-value assets; fees are bespoke.

Honest labeling: audit fees are not reported in a standardized, reliable field on Form 5500, so these ranges are editorial estimates informed by published fee surveys and engagement quotes — not outputs of our filing dataset. The benchmarks below are from the dataset.

Want a figure for your plan? Estimate your fee range with the calculator further down this page.

What makes a 401(k) audit more or less expensive?

Fee drivers for employee benefit plan audits
FactorEffect on fee
Audit scope electionAn ERISA Section 103(a)(3)(C) audit (investments certified by a qualified institution) typically runs 15–40% less than a full-scope audit.
First year vs. recurringYear one adds opening-balance and setup work; expect a premium of roughly 10–25%, then modest annual increases.
Payroll and recordkeepingEach additional payroll system, recordkeeper conversion, or mid-year provider change adds testing hours.
Plan design complexityEmployer securities, self-directed brokerage, non-participant-directed or hard-to-value assets, and DB components raise scope.
Condition of recordsClean census data, timely contribution remittances, and reconciled trust reports are the cheapest fee reduction available.
TimingEngaging in spring for an October 15 extended deadline invites rush premiums; auditors discount predictable, early fieldwork.

Benchmarks from 77,427 audited filings

Context for your quote, from plan year 2024 Form 5500 data. If your plan has 250 participants, you are shopping in the market’s crowded middle; if it has 5,000, only a subset of firms regularly audits at that scale.

Audited retirement plans by participant count, plan year 2024
Plan size (participants, beginning of year)Audited plansShare
Under 100 participants3670.5%
100–24924,96134.3%
250–49919,49426.8%
500–99911,91416.4%
1,000–4,99911,93516.4%
5,000 or more4,1055.6%

Median audited plan: 357 participants. Plans under 100 participants appear mainly through the 80–120 rule and plans electing large-plan filing status.

Audit market concentration, plan year 2024
MeasureValue
Retirement plan audits held by the 10 largest firms17,688 (24.3%)
Retirement plan audits held by the 100 largest firms42,182 (58.0%)
Firms with at least one retirement plan engagement3,956
Firms auditing exactly one plan1,552
Median engagements per firm2

Pricing implication: the market has a competitive, specialized top tier and a very long tail of occasional auditors. Specialists are often cheaper per hour of assurance because the work is templated; occasional auditors may quote low but carry the deficiency risk documented by the DOL.

Rankings derived from U.S. Department of Labor Form 5500 filings, plan year 2024. Read the full methodology.

401(k) audit cost FAQs

Who pays for a 401(k) audit — the company or the plan?

Either. The audit supports the plan’s Form 5500 filing and is generally treated as a plan administrative expense, so it may be paid from plan assets if the plan document permits. In practice most sponsors pay it as a corporate expense to avoid reducing participant balances.

Is a cheaper audit riskier?

It can be. The U.S. Department of Labor’s audit quality study found a 76% deficiency rate among CPAs performing one or two plan audits per year, versus 12% at the largest practices. A deficient audit can lead the DOL to reject the Form 5500, exposing the sponsor to penalties. Weigh engagement volume — shown throughout this directory — alongside fee.

What is a Section 103(a)(3)(C) audit, and does it save money?

It is an election, formerly called a limited-scope audit, available when a bank, trust company, or insurance carrier certifies the plan’s investment information. The auditor then does not audit the certified investment figures, which reduces hours and cost — typically 15–40% versus full scope. Participant data, contributions, and distributions are still tested.

How long does a 401(k) audit take?

Plan on six to twelve weeks from kickoff to signed opinion for a typical plan, including sponsor time gathering payroll and census support. Audits begun after Labor Day for an October 15 extended Form 5500 deadline are feasible but compressed; spring engagement is cheaper and calmer.

Why did my audit fee go up this year?

Common causes: participant growth pushing larger samples, a recordkeeper or payroll conversion, an acquisition adding a merged plan, a new auditor re-establishing opening balances, or firm-wide rate increases — plan audit fees have risen roughly 5–10% annually in recent years amid staffing shortages.

401(k) audit cost by state

State pages combine the same fee guidance with local market data: how many plans were audited in the state, how many firms serve it, and which firms sign the most filings there.

Next steps

What will my 401(k) audit cost? Estimate a fee range

Enter your plan’s facts for an estimated annual fee range built from the editorial fee bands above. It is a planning estimate, not a quote, and not Form 5500 data — audit fees are not reported on the form.

Count at the beginning of the plan year
Total trust assets at plan year end
Funds on the menu, excluding brokerage windows

Estimated annual audit fee (editorial estimate)

$8,000$14,000

How this estimate was built
FactorYour planEffect on fee
Plan size150 participants with balancesBase band 100–249 participants: $8,000 – $14,000
First-year auditNoNo adjustment
Audit scopeERISA Section 103(a)(3)(C)No adjustment
Self-directed brokerage windowsNoNo adjustment
Prior-year findingsNoNo adjustment
Investment menu20 optionsNo adjustment
Plan assets$15,000,000No adjustment
  • Adjustments compound. Employer stock, multiple payroll systems, mid-year recordkeeper changes, and messy records can push a real quote above this range.

Estimates start from the editorial fee bands in the table above and apply the percentage effects from the fee-drivers table. They are not derived from Form 5500 filings and are not a quote; get proposals from two or three firms with audit volume in your state.